Posts tagged ‘Tinarie van Wyk Loots’

March 19, 2012

47th annual fleur du cap theatre awards 2012

Fleur du Cap Awards 2012

Nominees and VIP guests were greeted on the red carpet with champagne, cocktails and canapĂ©s at the prestigious 47th annual Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards, held at the Baxter Theatre on Sunday 18 March 2012. Director and choreographer Alfred Hinkel took a new approach to this year’s entertainment and created a production that involved Heather Mac, dancers from his new company Garage and the two Masters of Ceremony, Alan Committie and Hannes van Wyk. It was certainly a magical evening for ‘Klaasvakie’ with Wilna Snyman winning Best Performance by a Leading Actress in a Play and Nicole Hanekom receiving the prize for Best Performance by a Supporting Actress in a Play. The award for Best Performance by a Leading Actor in a Play went to Carel Nel for ‘Die Rebellie van Lafras Verwey’. Actor and lecturer Christopher Weare was awarded the Fleur Du Cap Lifetime Achievement award for his contribution to South African theatre. With 20 categories this year, winners were awarded a beautiful silver medallion and R15,000 making a Fleur du Cap the most coveted award in the industry.

I had the opportunity once again to chat to a legend in South African TV and theatre, Wilna Snyman and Tinarie van Wyk Loots as they pay homage to their mothers.

February 24, 2012

the kyknet fiestas 2012

kykNET Fiestas 2012 Bobby van Jaarsveldt Kia Johnson 01

It was glitz and glam as South Africa’s premier Afrikaans TV, movie and music stars arrived on the blue carpet at the 2nd Annual kykNET Fiestas 2012 last night to celebrating Afrikaans arts, culture and entertainment. Guests at the awards ceremony included singer and Cosmo’s Sexiest Man 2012 Bobby van Jaarsveld with his wife Annatjie Rheeders, ‘7de Laan’‘s Vinette Ebrahim & Annelisa Weiland, Antoinette Kellermann, Tinarie van Wyk Loots, Connie de Villiers, Kia Johnson, Soli Philander, Wilna Snyman to name a few. With 16 categories, Fiestas were awarded to the most outstanding performances in arts as well as production. Honored with Lifetime Achievement Awards were Louis van Niekerk, Mimi Coertse and Elsa Joubert for their exceptional contributions to theatre, music and literature.

kykNET Fiestas 2012 Soli Philander Claire Johnson Connie De Villiers David Kramer 02

The drama Rooiland, nominated in 6 categories, won 4 accolades with Brendon Daniels receiving the golden statue for Best Actor, Jaco Bouwer for Best Director, Bouwer & Tertius Kapp for Best New Afrikaans Production. Open air production ‘Lot’, nominated in 6 categories, won Best Production, Best Supporting Actor went to Neels van Jaarsveld and Best Theartre Design went to Nicola Hanekom. Steve Hofmeyr, Clare Johnson (of Mango Groove) and Vusi Mahlasela along with Jack Parrow and David Kramer entertained between award category announcements. Some refer to the kykNET Fiestas as the Oscars of Afrikaans theatre, it was certainly an an evening filled with art, culture and glamour.

The kykNET Fiestas Awards will be broadcast on Thursday, 01 March 2012 at 19:30 on kykNET (Channel 111 on DStv).

More photos at JustForTheNostalgia on Facebook.